Sage's Android App
Download our Apple App!
Sage's Apple App

Donate to Sages

Thread: Military brass

Title
    Premium Member

Military brass

I am pretty new to reloading and someone told me I should reduce the powder charge by 10% with military brass over non military brass . Is this true? Thank you all.

Title
    Administrator
    In 308 and 30-06 it holds true quite a bit as the brass is thicker, and has less internal case volume.

In 223/5.56, it doesn't hold true as some military brass it thinner than their commercial counterpart.

Always best to work up loads and watch for pressure signs. Even a different gun may not shoot a proven load in another gun, due to chamber differences.

Quote Originally Posted by ogfiredog06 View Post
    I am pretty new to reloading and someone told me I should reduce the powder charge by 10% with military brass over non military brass . Is this true? Thank you all.

Title
    Premium Member
    Thank you. I should have stated that I was loading 556 and 223.

Title
    Administrator
    No problem. Best to test the loads in the brass to be used and work up

Thank you. I should have stated that I was loading 556 and 223.

Title
    It's worth noting that there are no 5.56 reloading dies. All your 5.56 milsurp brass is going to be .223 Remington after you resize it.

If you think there might be a difference in thickness among brass manufacturers, weigh it...it can't be measured with calipers.
    All measurements want to compare apples to apples...
    -compare once fired (1x) to once fired (better yet, use NEW brass)
    -compare untrimmed to untrimmed, etc.

Then accumulate weight of a BUNCH of each and divide by the number of cases weighed to get an average. Now you're close to being able to say 'this brand must have thinner brass than that.'
    But weight! (pun intended) there's more!